Liberal Rebecca Watson explains why it’s OK that rich kids will get to see new episodes of Sesame Street nine months before poor kids

In this video, liberal Rebecca Watson praises HBO for funding new episodes of Sesame Street, which it will let PBS air for free after nine months. The number of new episodes produced per year is also getting bigger because of this deal with HBO.

I agree with Ms. Watson that this is a good idea. She admits that rich kids will get to see the new episodes nine months earlier than poor kids, but also says that this is not a problem. I praise her for seeing this as a win-win situation instead of as a class-warfare type thing. I wish more liberals shared her way of thinking.

I myself grew up watching Sesame Street, Mr. Roger’s Neighborhood, The Electric Company, 3-2-1 Contact, and other educational shows on PBS, and I am definitely a better person for having done so. Perhaps this makes me a “bad” libertarian, but I can’t think of any practical reason to oppose government funded public television. In theory, libertarians such as myself are supposed to be against it. But I believe that in this particular case, real world evidence proves that the theory is wrong. The financial cost of public television, as a percentage of the federal budget, has always been trivial, and the educational benefits of public television over the decades have been enormous. I am glad that I, as well as millions of other people, watched it when we were children, and if that required the use of taxpayers’ money, then so be it.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S_6MS3QDnOI

 

August 27, 2015. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Education, Politics, Television.

2 Comments

  1. Constitution Believer replied:

    Sorry Dan I for one do not consider you to be a “bad” libertarian but in fact a well informed and well educated libertarian, and THAT is coming from a “radical” Conservative.
    In the years that I have known you I have known you to speak nothing but the truth and fact being you tell it like it is and one thing the Liberals do NOT like is for someone to tell the truth and to tell it like it is.
    No my friend I and I am sure there are others that will agree with me.
    NOW you can take your bow and pat yourself on the back.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Trackback URI