Obamacare forces Los Angeles family to buy dental insurance that covers zero dentists within 100 mile radius

Scot Vorse lives in Los Angeles, California. He writes:

I noticed in my new Anthem monthly premium under Obamacare that I was required to pay a separate monthly charge for dental insurance for my two teenage children (I also have to pay the monthly charge even though I don’t receive the benefits, but that is a different issue). This dental plan was assigned to me and not my particular choice.

Today, it is time to take my kids in for their six-month cleaning, so I checked to see if their dentist is covered under my plan. They are not. OK – there are other dentists. Let’s see about within five miles of my house. Nope – not a single one. Within ten? Nope. Within 20? Nope. Within 50? Nope. Finally, what about within 100 miles? Nope. What is even worse is that the Anthem search feature doesn’t expand past 100 miles. I don’t know if there is any dentist in California that accepts my plan.

Perhaps if I fly to Sacramento or Modesto I can find a dentist that accepts my mandatory-policy kids. I wonder if, after the cost of airfare, a teeth cleaning will still be “affordable.”

Mr. Vorse also included the following screencap, which shows that when he searched for an Obamacare dentist within 100 miles, the results said that there were zero Obamacare dentists within that 100 mile radius:

no obamacare dentists within 100 miles

April 20, 2014. Tags: , , , , . Health care, Politics.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

