Obama apologizes – not for lying – but for the fact that people believed his lies

This is an example of a fake apology:

Person #1: “You’re an idiot.”

Person #2: “I demand an apology.”

Person #1: “OK. I’m sorry that you’re an idiot.”

Whereas a real apology would be:

Person #1: “I’m sorry that I called you an idiot.”

Obama just gave a fake apology.

Look at Obama’s words – he didn’t apologize for lying – he apologized for the fact that people believed his lies.

NBC News reports:

President Obama said Thursday that he is “sorry” that some Americans are losing their current health insurance plans as a result of the Affordable Care Act, despite his promise that no one would have to give up a health plan they liked.

“I am sorry that they are finding themselves in this situation based on assurances they got from me,” he told NBC News in an exclusive interview at the White House.

“We’ve got to work hard to make sure that they know we hear them and we are going to do everything we can to deal with folks who find themselves in a tough position as a consequence of this.”

A real apology would be something along the lines of:

“I’m sorry that I lied. I’m sorry that I falsely told people that they could keep their insurance.”

That would be a real apology.

But Obama did not offer a real apology. He offered a fake apology.

In addition, it would be good if Obama said:

“I knew that people would lose their insurance. But getting elected was more important to me than telling the truth, so I lied.”

Furthermore, given the magnitude of what Obama did, it would be good if he said something along the lines of:

“I feel embarrassed and ashamed. I am not worthy of your support or of your respect. Effective immediately, I am resigning from the office of President of the United States.”

Of course that one would be a pipe dream.

November 8, 2013. Tags: , , , , , , , . Barack Obama, Health care, Politics.

3 Comments

  1. BGills replied:

    I’m glad to see that I’m not alone, in NOT hearing an apology in the Presidents words.
    Instead he inferred that this was some sort of unforeseen complication… Then insisting this is somehow a planned benefit to those who have had their policies terminated because of noncompliance with the minimum requirements of the ACA. That they will now be able to get better coverage for less money. Again, False, Wrong, NOT TRUE!
    These minimum requirements are a rather expensive impediment to shopping for “affordable healthcare,” and a glaring example of the ultimate goal to move toward a single payer system.
    People know their own needs far better than a generic formula provided by a disconnected bureaucrats. Once again, the government knows what’s best for everyone, and they intend to prove it, no matter the cost, or hardship.
    Unnecessary coverage simply serves to jack up the price of healthcare, for those who don’t need it!

  2. Deborah replied:

    I thought the same thing, if that was an apology, it was a pretty sorry apology (pun intended). The man appears to be void of a soul.

  3. Naphtali replied:

    Ditto!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

