Mango recall at Giant Eagle supermarkets in Pittsburgh

Yesterday I got a computerized phone call from Giant Eagle, telling me not to eat the mangoes that I’ve been buying since July, because they might be contaminated with Salmonella. The message said I could return them to the store for a full refund.

I’m not sure how I’m going to do that, given that I’d already eaten most of them weeks ago.

I’m guessing that maybe three people got sick in the entire country, and they thought that was justification for recalling millions of mangoes. I understand risk analysis, and it’s my educated guess that I’d be more likely to die by being hit by a car while crossing the street while going to the store to return them, than I would from salmonella.

At the time I got the phone call, I still had six left. Since then, I’ve eaten two of those – and I feel great. I plan on eating the rest over the next few days.

August 28, 2012. Tags: , , , , , , , , , . Food, Math, Pittsburgh.

One Comment

  1. pittsburgh entertainment news replied:

    If you ever have the chance to visit Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania I would recommend that you stay in one of the hotels on the south bank of the Monongahela River located in a place called “Station Square”. The views of the incredible Pittsburgh skyline rising up above the brown Monongahela River with its bridges and barges is amazing to say the least. There are all kinds of shops, stores and restaurants in Station Square and a clean, convenient subway / trolley (known locally as the “T”) that provides easy access to the bustling downtown area known as the Golden triangle.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

