I canceled my cable TV because they cover up shows with ads for other shows

I love watching TV. I mean, I really, really love watching TV. I grew up watching far more TV than what the “experts” say anyone should ever watch.

Having been a young child in the 1970s, I got to watch reruns of Get Smart, Gilligan’s Island, I Dream of Jeannie, Jonny Quest, and Speed Racer, as well as new episodes of The Muppet Show, Land of the Lost, The Jeffersons, Alice, Wonder Woman, and The Dukes of Hazzard, as well as theatrical productions such as Looney Tunes cartoons, Three Stooges shorts, and Abbott and Costello movies.

Then in the 1980s I immensely enjoyed Magnum, P.I. and You Can’t Do That On Television. In the 1990s, I had fun watching My-So-Called Life, Freaks and Geeks, and The Simpsons. So far this century, I have loved watching Gilmore Girls and Alias.

But about a year ago, I canceled my cable.

I did this, because in recent years, every time I tried to watch a show on TV, the TV stations would cover it up with advertisements for other shows. Sometimes these ads were in the form of words covering up the program I was trying to watch. Other times, characters from the show that was being advertised would start walking across the screen, covering up the show I was trying to watch.

All of this is horribly annoying, and very insulting to my intelligence.

When I pay money for cable TV, I should be allowed to watch the programs that I am paying for. But for whatever reason, the cable TV stations have decided that they will not let me have the product for which I have paid.

Fortunately, this problem does not happen when I watch TV shows on DVD.

So I canceled my cable a year ago. I do not regret that decision one bit.

December 11, 2011. Tags: , , , . Television.

5 Comments

  1. lizzie replied:

    I also hate those ghost ads that are constantly on the screen. I also find it insulting and it ruins the viewing experience. Plus, I believe they are probably ineffective because most people just ignore them and don’t read them.

  2. Penny Robinson Fan Club replied:

    You seem to have omitted “Lost In Space” from your lineup of favorites, and Penny is NOT happy about that. Are you Penny?

    Penny is shaking her head No and looking very grim.

    • danfromsquirrelhill replied:

      I enjoyed Lost in Space when I was a child. But as an adult, I don’t think it holds up as well. I had actually considered buying it on DVD, but ultimately decided not to.

      I’m sure there are other people who disagree with me about Gilligan’s Island, which I have on DVD, and love very much.

      Everyone has their own favorites.

  3. Larry1356 replied:

    You mean to say there are shows in between all the commercials?

  4. Elliander Eldridge replied:

    I did the same thing, but it was more than just a mere annoyance. It ruins the illusion of being caught up in something.

    Other times it would make it impossible to fully watch the show. For example, sometimes a cartoon would have subtitles because a character is speaking in a gibberish language and that would be covered by ads.

    I actually miss passive entertainment. I completely miss out on new shows and without commercials I don’t have any idea if there is a new movie in the theaters I may want to see, but I am just so fed up with the ads covering television that I cut the cable.

    So I began watching Netflix for everything and I actually forgot about the ads covering TV because I just wasn’t exposed to it for so long. I considered trying cable again and then I immediately noticed the problem is still going on. In addition to the ads, the network station logos are now away from the corners of the TV where they used to be making it difficult to tune it out.

    I just can’t deal with it! You would think that, considering how many people cable TV is loosing, that they would actually pay attention to the simple things that push viewers away, but they don’t care. Instead, when they see ratings drop, they think it’s the show itself rather than what they are doing to the show.

    If any Network TV people are reading this, seriously, kill the ads covering the TV, ok? That’s really all you have to do to get customers back. No one likes it, everything just tries to tune it out, and it has the opposite effect that you intend. I would still probably view streaming TV more than cable TV, but if the ads weren’t covering the shows I would probably get cable TV service again.

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

