French President wants to ban homework because some students are “disadvantaged”

The Washington Post reports:

French President François Hollande has said he will end homework as part of a series of reforms to overhaul the country’s education system.

And the reason he wants to ban homework?

He doesn’t think it is fair that some kids get help from their parents at home while children who come from disadvantaged families don’t.

This is ridiculous. Everyone is “disadvantaged” at something. Will President Hollande ban math and science because some people are “disadvantaged” at those things too?

The only way that you can make everyone “equal” is to drag everyone down to the lowest common denominator – and this is a great example of that.

When I was a child, it never even occurred to me to ask my parents for help with my homework, because I knew it was my responsibility. But that didn’t put me at a “disadvantage.” On the contrary, it’s precisely because I did my homework that I learned as much as I did.

If President Hollande’s plan to ban homework is carried out, it will place all of France’s students at a genuine “disadvantage.”

October 16, 2012. Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , . Education.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 394 other followers

