TV theme songs – part 3 of 4

Part 3

TV theme songs – part 1 of 4

TV theme songs – part 2 of 4

TV theme songs – part 3 of 4

TV theme songs – part 4 of 4

Jeffersons

Lots of stage-trained actors in this one. Mother Jefferson’s regular appearances during the first two seasons made those two seasons the best of this wonderful series. This may be the best song of any Norman Lear show.

Muppet Show

Gonzo’s horn actually works in this one!

One Day At A time

Of this show’s nine seasons, only the first has been released on DVD. That’s a lot better than no DVDs at all – but it sure would be nice to get the next two seasons released as well.

Wonder Woman

This opening, which is my favorite of this show’s many openings, is from the second half of season two. I love it when the computer says “I have come to the conclusion that Diana Prince is…”

Diff’rent Strokes

I loved this show as a child, but I’ve hardly seen it much since then. I still love the song.

Godzilla

Being born in 1971, I was the perfect target audience for this show in the late 70s.  I actually saw it before I ever saw any of the movies, and to this very day I still think of this Godzilla as the “real” Godzilla.

Incredible Hulk

The opening narration, as well as the voice of the title character, was done by Ted Cassidy, the same actor who voiced Godzilla in the previously listed show, as well as the actor who played Lurch on the Addams Family. The piano music that played at the end as David was hitchhiking always made me feel sad.

Alice

In this opening from the pilot episode, a different actor plays Tommy. This version of the theme song is my favorite. The first season was finally released on DVD earlier this year.

Dukes of Hazzard

The first season of this show was a lot more serious than the later seasons – Roscoe is a competent police officer and actually shoots a bad guy in one episode – and it’s even suggested that one of the Duke boys might have fathered some of the children who are in the local orphanage.

Facts of Life

Even if the show isn’t very good, the song is awesome.

Price Is Right

This is the version of the song that was used in the late 70s and early 80s, because that’s the version that I grew up with.

Trapper John M.D.

Hearing this song makes me think that’s it’s Sunday night, and I get to watch one more hour of TV before I go to bed before going to school the next morning.

Magnum, P.I. (two versions)

This is my favorite show of all time. The first song here was only used in the first few episodes – the second song is the version that everyone is familiar with. The show ran for 8 seasons, and I consider seasons 2, 3, and 4 to be the true “classic” seasons, with season 2 being my favorite.

-

3-2-1 Contact

Oh my gosh – watching this video sure does make me feel nostalgic!

Cheers

After the actor who played Coach died, they switched to a slightly different version of the theme song, which is the version that I prefer, and which is shown below.

Family Ties

I liked this a lot when it was originally on, and it still holds up quite well today.

Square Pegs

In 2003, I watched every episode of this excellent show on TV-Land, and I honestly could not recall if I had ever seen it before or not  – and to this very day, I still don’t know. I am so glad that I own this wonderfully fantastic show on DVD. The Waitresses were an awesome band, and their music is well worth seeking out.

You Can’t Do That On Television

You had to have been a child or teen in the 80s to know about this one. It wasn’t until years later that I discovered that all of the adult male characters were played by the same actor, and this new information made the show even funnier. This is one of my very favorite TV shows of all time. It’s never been released on DVD, but YouTube has just about every episode. The show has lived up to its title, and is considered so “offensive” by today’s standards that it hasn’t been shown on TV since the 1990s. But trust me – it’s not truly offensive. Instead, the show has this wonderful characteristic of portraying many of its authority figures as being incompetent, greedy, power-hungry idiots who don’t deserve any respect. That being said, the show also touches on some very serious themes, such as smoking, drugs, environmentalism, and politics. This is one very smart show, and I believe that I am a better human being for having watched it while I was growing up. A whole bunch of  episodes can be found in this earlier post that I made called Here’s a bunch of episodes of “You Can’t Do That On Television.”

TV theme songs – part 1 of 4

TV theme songs – part 2 of 4

TV theme songs – part 3 of 4

TV theme songs – part 4 of 4

October 11, 2012. Tags: , , , , , , . Music, Television.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 354 other followers

